What are Saved Cards?
Saved Cards is a feature that lets customers securely store their payment card information during checkout. These details are stored with us, so you don't need to enter them again for future purchases on the same platform or from other Paystack merchants.
This feature is exclusive to Nigeria-based merchants and businesses, but customers can save their card details using a phone number from any country.
What are the benefits?
- Convenience: You don't have to keep typing in your card details when transacting with a Paystack merchant.
- Fewer Abandoned Carts: Since the process is quicker, you're less likely to abandon your payment before completing a purchase.
- Lower Card Errors: Storing your card reduces the chance of making mistakes while entering card details, like inputting the wrong CVV or card number.
- Security: It can help reduce fraudulent transactions, as only you can access your saved cards.
How does it work?
Saving a new card
When a Paystack merchant has the Saved Cards feature enabled, you’ll see the option to ‘Save this card for faster checkouts’ on the checkout popup where you input your card information.
Once you click the checkbox, an additional field to provide your phone number will appear. Filling in your phone number will trigger an OTP to be sent to your mobile phone, which you’ll also be prompted to share on the checkout form.
Once your phone number is confirmed with the correct OTP, your card will be saved, and then you can proceed to authenticate and complete your payment.
If you skip the OTP stage while trying to save a card, the card will not be saved. You‘ll receive a final SMS from us confirming that your card has been saved.
Kindly note that you can only have up to eight saved cards tied to your profile.
Paying with a saved card
Your Saved Cards profile is tied to the email address you use to checkout and the phone number you saved the card with.
If you have a saved card tied to your email, you’ll see the option to access it and complete the payment with any of them or to pay with a different card.
If you want to pay with a saved card, all you need to do is click on ‘Access saved cards’, enter the OTP sent to your registered phone number and choose the card you want to complete the payment with.
Deleting a saved card
If you’d like to remove a saved card from your profile, all you need to do is click on the trash icon beside the card after accessing your saved cards.
After clicking the button, you'll be prompted to confirm your decision by selecting 'Remove card.' Once confirmed, the card will be deleted, and all associated information wiped.
You’ll then be redirected to your saved card list, where you can pick another card if you have another one saved or complete the payment with another card.